Museo del Cristallo di Colle di Val d'Elsa
The museum is located in an underground venue once occupied by one of the furnaces of the 18th century crystal manufacturer Schmidt or ex Boschi. The various sections reconstruct the history of the glass industry in Colle Val d'Elsa from 1820, the year when the first furnace opened, through to the years when the production of glass changed to crystal in 1963, until the modern day production. There is a collection of pieces from the pre-industrial era, but also some dating back to the 14th and 15th centuries.
Special attention has been given to objects of design and those engraved which were carried out with antique techniques. The end display is a kind of "crystal forest", a scenic interpretation of the emotions evoked by this material, to which this museum is dedicated. The museum wants to show the importance of the role played by Colle Val d'Elsa in the international market, producing today 95% of the Italian crystal and 15% of the worlds production.
A section of the museum, called "experimental area", is dedicated to all the visitors who would like to touch with their own hands specific objects or feel the engravings on the various pieces available. They are also authorised to touch the different shaped millstones, made with different materials and used on an every day basis by the crystal masters. This experience will allow the visitor to better understand the different techniques used.
Summer Opening Hours
10:00 am - 06:00 pm
- Tuesday to Sunday
Ticket type: Adult € 4 / reduced tickets € 2.50
Rediced tickets apply to:
- Children from 6 to 17
- Adults over 65
- Groups of over 15 people (2 free tickets for group guides)
- Families with 3 or more components
- Teachers and Italian and overseas students (with valid documentation)
- Children under 6
- Icom's members
- Tourist guides
- Interpretors (for tourist guides or groups)
- Journalists (with documentation)
- MiBACT's members